Sir Courtney Walsh names his ALL-TIME WORLD CUP XI – Check Full list here!

Courtney Walsh, a former Jamaican Cricketer, represented the West Indies from 1984 to 2001. walsh, who has taken 746 wickets in 337 internationals, is still the highest Test wicket-taker in West Indies history.  That’s 519 wickets.

Sir Courtney Walsh shared his ALL-TIME WORLD CUP XI with the ESPNcricinfo website.  His squad consisted of four West Indies and four Australian players each, as well as one Indian, one South African and one Pakistani.  Accordingly

His opening pair of batsmen were Indian Little Master Sachin Tendulkar and West Indies devastating Chris Gayle. Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting has been named for his number three.

Sir Walsh selected another former West Indies player Sir Vivian Richards for his No. 4 and The prince of Trinidad’s Brain Lara was then selected for the No. 5 Place.

South Africa’s Destructive batsman AB De Villiers has been named the No. 6 and his wicketkeeper is Adam Gilchrist of Australia.

His bowling squad consisted of one spinner and three fast bowlers. The spinner was Shane Warne, the best spinner in the world. Wasim Akram of Pakistan, Curtly Ambrose of the West Indies and Glenn McGrath of Australia were his three fast bowlers.

In addition, he said he needed two spinners and selected Sri Lanka’s Muttiah Muralitharan for the No. 12 position and he said,

“Muttiah to run in the 12th and that will be my twelve because of various reason. I want the two spinners in the squad because of the wicket is good enough, I’m going to attack with them and I think I have enough seamless to cover that as well.”

Sir Walsh also mentioned the names of Joel Garner and Jacques Kalis and said,

“Two guys who were probably very close to it was Jack Kalis and Joel Garner and I’m just going by what I’ve seen and the guys who have played with her arrogance.”

His World Cup squad, which he named:

Sachin Tendulkar, Chris Gayle, Ricky Ponting, Sir Viv Richards, Brain Lara, AB De Villiers, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Sir Curtly Ambrose, Glenn McGrath.

1 thought on “Sir Courtney Walsh names his ALL-TIME WORLD CUP XI – Check Full list here!”

Leave a Comment