Alzarri Joseph to replace Jason Holder? Predicting West Indies likely playing XI for the 1st T20I against New Zealand

West Indies have been having a tough time in the White-ball format recently. They suffered a big home 1-4 defeat against India in the T20I series and a 0-3 whitewash in the ODI series.

However, Caribbean Side set to Play Three match T20I Series against Newzeland at Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica on 10th August at 01:30 PM Local Time.

West Indies have decided to name the same squad for the T20I series against West Indies with Nicholas Pooran leading the camp.

Shimron Hetmyer was the top scorer for the Windies with 115 runs to his name in 5 innings. Kyle Mayers followed closely with 110 runs in 4 innings.

Left-arm pacer Obed McCoy was the highest wicket-taker in the series with 9 wickets to his name in 5 matches.

Alzarri Joseph and Jason Holder also registered 5 wickets each to their names.

New Zealand will be playing with their full strength side after a very long time.

Their captain Kane Williamson returns to cricket after a long break while their primary seamers Tim Southee and Trent Boult are returning to bolster their pace attack.

Ish Sodhi retains his place as the only wrist spinner in the squad and is likely to start in the playing 11. The veteran opener Martin Guptill will continue to open the innings.

WI vs NZ, 1st T20I, Pitch Report:

The pitch at Sabina Park is perfectly balanced for both batters and bowlers in white-ball cricket.

In the three T20I matches played here, the average first innings scored is just around 134 runs.

WI vs NZ, 1st T20I, Probable Playing XIs:

West Indies

Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Devon Thomas (wk), Jason Holder, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy.

New Zealand

Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (c), Tom Latham (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Trent Boult, Tim Southee.

New Zealand Full squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

West Indies Full squad:

Nicholas Pooran (c) , Rovman Powell (vc), Shamarh Brooks , Dominic Drakes , Shimron Hetmyer , Jason Holder , Akeal Hosein , Alzarri Joseph , Brandon King , Kyle Mayers , Obed McCoy , Keemo Paul , Romario Shepherd , Odean Smith , Devon Thomas

Leave a Comment