IPL 2022 Highlights, RR vs GT Final : Shubman Gill and David Miller took charge.

Gujarat Titans won their maiden Indian Premier League title after beating Rajasthan Royals in the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Credit: BCCI/IPL

Hardik Pandya starred with the ball as GT managed to restrict RR to total of 130. Needing 131 runs to win, GT chased down the target with seven wickets and 11 balls to spare. Shubman Gill scored an unbeaten 45 while David Miller also contributed with a 19-ball 32. Earlier, RR had won the toss and elected to bat.


The RR players scored 130 runs for the loss of 09 wickets in 20 overs. The tournament’s top scorer was Jos Buttler got 39 runs and Jaiswal got 22 runs for RR.


Skipper Hardik Pandya’s all-around show where he hit 34 off 30 balls and also picked three important wickets of Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Shimron Hetmyer with the ball by going for just 17 runs in his four overs. Sai kishore took two wickets and the other bowlers Shami, Dayal and Rashid Khan shared one wicket each.


Chasing a modest target of 131, Gujarat Titans didn’t have a good start. Prasidh removed Wriddhiman Saha in the 2nd over as Gujarat batters found it tough to get going. In 10 overs, Gujarat could only score 54 runs with Matthew Wade also departing in the 5th over.


captain Hardik Pandya and Shubman Gill, who took charge. Although they were slow to start with, they did not give away many opportunities. The two brought up a 63-run stand to keep the chase on. After Hardik was removed by Yuzvendra Chahal in the 14th over for 34 runs, His performance was backed by a good showing from Shubman Gill who scored a brilliant 45* off just 43 balls and David Miller’s quick 32 (19) to help Gujarat Titans chase down 131 against Gujarat Titans to become the IPL 2022 Champions.

Credit: BCCI/IPL

West Indies’ Shimron Hetmyer and Obed McCoy represented RR in the final. There Hetmyer did not have a chance to succeed in the final and He had 11 runs off 12 balls. Also, McCoy bowled 3.1 overs and scored 26 runs. He could not get any wickets.

Credit: BCCI/IPL

Jos Buttler is the tournament’s top scorer and player with the most number of sixes(45). He won the man of the series award. Hardik Pandya was also the man of the match. Chahal was the highest wicket taker of the tournament with taking 27 wickets. The 15th edition ended with the new Gujarat Titans becoming the winners.

Credit: BCCI/IPL

Leave a Comment