“I’m excited to lead”; Shimron Hetmyer confirmed Guyana Amazon Warriors appoint him as captain for CPL 2022

The 2022 Caribbean Premier League is scheduled to be held from August 30 to September 30. This year also 06 teams will play and the first men’s match will be between St Kitts and Jamaica. All the teams have bought local and foreign players so far.

Today ( 18), West indies middle order batter Shimron Hetmyer has been appointed captain of the Guyana Amazon Warriors team for the 2022 Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

The 25-year-old top order batter has been with the Guyana Amazon Warriors since 2016 and played 47 matches with one ton and eight half-centuries under his belt.

The biggest move of the draft saw Shai Hope sign for the Guyana Amazon Warriors where he will join Ronsford Beaton and Veerasammy Permaul.

The Warriors have played in a record five CPL finals since the inception of the League in 2013, finishing second-best on every occasion.

also, Warriors have added Imran Tahir, the leading bowler for the franchise with 60 wickets from 43 outings, for a fifth successive season.

Additionally, they have also included wristspinner Tabraiz Shamsi, batter Colin Ingram and wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen for the upcoming season alongside Paul Stirling, the Ireland opener.

The CPL, which will be held across Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago will begin on August 31, with the final to be played in Guyana on September 30.

Patriots are the defending champions, having beaten Kings in the final last year to win their maiden CPL title.

Speaking on his appointment, Hetmyer said, “I’m really happy to be appointed captain of my country franchise, I’m excited to lead this group of men! I can’t wait for the CPL to begin.”

Head Coach of the franchise, Rayon Griffith, welcomed Hetmyer’s appointment and said that he was happy to see him get the opportunity to captain a senior franchise.

Chairman of the Guyana Amazon Warriors franchise, Dr. Bobby Ramroop stated, “We are pleased to appoint our first Guyanese captain since the 2013 season. Hetmyer has been a main part of our set up over the years and we believe the time is right to have him lead the team.”

Guyana Amazon Warriors Full Squad: Shimron Hetmyer, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Chandrapaul Hemraj. Imran Tahir (Overseas), Tabriaz Shamshi (Overseas), Colin Ingram (Overseas), Paul Stirling (Overseas), Heinrich Klaasen (Overseas), Keemo Paul, Gudakesh Motie (Overseas), Shai Hope, Jermaine Blackwood, Veerasammy Paul, Ronsford Beaton, Matthew Nandu (Emerging Player), Junior Sinclair (Emerging Player)

Leave a Comment