ZIM vs WI Probable Playing XIs: West Indies look to seal the two-match Test series against Zimbabwe

The second fixture of the two-match Test series between Zimbabwe and West Indies will start on Sunday, February 12 at the Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo.

West Indies will look to play solid cricket in the second Test as well. Kraigg Brathwaite-led West Indies are certainly the favorites to win the series decider.

The highest run scorer for Zimbabwe in the Test Series is Gary Ballance. The highest wicket-taker for Zimbabwe in the Test Series is Milton Shumba with 3 scalps to his name.

The highest run-scorer for West Indies in the Test Series is Tagenarine Chanderpaul with 222 runs to his name.

The highest wicket-taker for West Indies in the Test Series is Alzarri Joseph with 2 scalps to his name.

The First Test match of the series ended up in a draw.

West Indies batted first and they posted a total of 447 for 6 in their first innings. Tagenarine Chanderpaul made 207 in 467 balls. It was his maiden double ton. Kraigg Brathwaite also played well and made 182 runs.

Zimbabwe in their reply got off to a terrible start. They were 7 wickets down for 192 and staring a big first-innings deficit. However, Gary Ballance revived them and scored 137 not out to take Zimbabwe’s total to 379 for 9.

In the second innings, West Indies declared after they made 203 for 5 in 60 overs.

With 2 sessions left in the match, West Indies were hoping to wrap Zimbabwe’s innings up and look for a win. However, Zimbabwe batters successfully drew the match having scored 134 for 6 in their second innings.

ZIM vs WI: Probable Playing XIs

Zimbabwe: Innocent Kaia, Tanunurwa Makoni, Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine (c), Gary Ballance, Tafadzwa Tsiga (wk), Brandon Mavuta, Wellington Masakadza, Brad Evans, Victor Nyauchi, Richard Ngarava

West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Raymon Reifer, Jermaine Blackwood, Kyle Mayers, Roston Chase, Joshua Da Silva (wk), Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Jomel Warrican/Kemar Roach

Let’s have a look at the squads:

Zimbabwe Squad:

Gary Ballance, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Tanaka Chivanga, Craig Ervine (c), Bradley Evans, Joylord Gumbie, Innocent Kaia, Tanunurwa Makoni, Wellington Masakadza, Kudzai Maunze, Brandon Mavuta, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano, Tafadzwa Tsiga.

West Indies Squad:

Kraigg Brathwaite (C), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Roston Chase, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Raymon Reifer, Devon Thomas, Jomel Warrican, Gudakesh Motie

Leave a Comment