WI vs SA, Possible Playing XI For 1st T20: West Indies will be keen to start the Series on a good note

South Africa and the West Indies are preparing for a T20 encounter starting March 25, following a three-match Test and ODI series.

South Africa defeated the West Indies 2-0 in the Test series and leveled the ODI series 1-1 with an easy win on Tuesday, March 21.

Both teams will now square off in the three-match T20 series, which will be contested in Centurion and Johannesburg.

West Indies continue their tour of South Africa with a three-match T20I series, starting with the first T20I on Saturday (March 25) at the SuperSport Park in Centurion.

The three-match T20I series will continue with the second T20I, which is scheduled to take place on Sunday (March 26) at the same venue before the action shifts to The Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg for the third and final T20I on March 28.

This will be the first T20I assignment since the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia for both South Africa and West Indies. Both the teams had a poor outing in the show-piece event last year with the Proteas missing out on a semifinal spot after defeating to the Netherlands, while Windies exited in the first round.

Aiden Markram will lead the South Africa squad that also features some top T20 stars like Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tristan Stubbs and Sisanda Magala. The visitors will be led by Rovman Powell with Kyle Mayers as his deputy.

The squad includes former captains Jason Holder and Nicholas Pooran, along with senior men Johnston Charles and Sheldon Cottrell.

South Africa vs West Indies 2023 T20I Squads

South Africa: Aiden Markram (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen (wicketkeeper), Sisanda Magala, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

West Indies: Rovman Powell (captain), Kyle Mayers (vice captain), Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Johnston Charles (wicketkeeper), Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell, Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Yannic Cariah.

Predicted Playing XI
South Africa

Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram (c), Rilee Rossouw, Heinrich Klaasen, Tristan Stubbs, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Marco Jansen, Tabraiz Shamsi, Anrich Nortje

West Indies

Johnson Charles, Kyle Mayers, Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Rovmann Powell (c), Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Alzarri Joseph

Leave a Comment