WI vs SA, 2nd T20, Possible Playing XIs: West Indies look to seal T20 series against South Africa

West Indies have won the first match of the T20I series to take a 1-0 lead.

The top run scorer for West Indies in the series is Brandon King with 79 runs to his name.

The top wicket taker for West Indies in the series is Gudakesh Motie with 3 scalps under his belt.

The top run scorer for South Africa in the series is Reeza Hendricks with 89 runs to his name.

The top wicket taker for South Africa in the series is Andile Phehlukwayo with 3 scalps under his belt.

In the First T20I, West Indies batted first and they posted a total of 175 for 8 in 20 overs. They lost Johnson Charles early on in the innings but Kyle Mayers and Brandon King gave a flying start to their team. They scored 34 and 79 runs respectively. Once these two got out though, West Indies started losing wickets in regular succession and were restricted to a total of 179, when at one point they looked like going past the 200 run mark.

During the chase, South Africa lost Quinton de Kock and Ryan Rickelton in the Powerplay overs. Reeza Hendricks tried his best to take South Africa over the line but he kept losing partners everytime a partnership was starting to build. Hendricks made 87 runs off 51 balls but it went in vain as South Africa eventually fell short by 28 runs.

WI vs SA: Predicted XIs:

West Indies: Johnson Charles, Kyle Mayers, Brandon King (c), Andre Fletcher (wk), Roston Chase, Fabian Allen, Akeal Hosein, Gudakesh Motie, Obed McCoy, Matthew Forde, Shamar Joseph

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Ryan Rickelton, Rassie van der Dussen (c), Matthew Breetzke, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Gerald Coetzee, Bjorn Fortuin, Ottniel Baartman, Lungi Ngidi

Let’s have a look at the squads:

West Indies:

Brandon King (c), Roston Chase, Fabian Allen, Alick Athanaze, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Matthew Forde, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr

South Africa:

Rassie van der Dussen (c), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Patrick Kruger, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Nqaba Peter, Ryan Rickelton, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock and Anrich Nortje

Leave a Comment