WI vs PAK : West Indies Possible Playing XI For 1st T20

The first Twenty20 Match of the Twenty20 and ODI series between the West Indies and Pakistan starts tomorrow (13). The start times for the matches are, T20Is at (9am Eastern Caribbean/8am Jamaica) and the ODIs at 1pm (4am Eastern Caribbean/3am Jamaica).

Three West Indies players will miss the T20 matches due to being infected with the Covid 19 virus There for West Indies will play with a few changes.

Roston Chase, Kayle Myers and Sheldon Cottrell have all been infected with the Covid 19 virus. The three have been isolated in Karachi for 10 days. They will also be monitored by the team doctor until the negative tests return.

Dwayne Bravo has retired, Chris Gayle has been left out of the squad, Jason Holder has been rested, Fabian Allen and Obed McCoy have been ruled out due to injury and Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell and Lendl Simmons have been ruled out for personal reasons. . The Nicholas Pooran-led T20I squad is relatively inexperienced, with white ball captain Kieron Pollard also missing out due to injury.

That’s not a bad thing at all, considering the West Indies look forward to a disastrous 2021 T20 World Cup campaign. This series opportunity to do so as part of preparations for the next edition of the T20 World Cup to be held in Australia in less than a year.

“We know what happened in the World Cup and we’re not going to go back there. We’re looking to move forward and see who now wants to move forward with this team and our different ideas of how we want to play” – Phil Simmons, West Indies head coach.

Also the match schedule can be stated as follows.

  • First T20I: December 13 – National Stadium, Karachi
  • Second T20I: December 14 – National Stadium, Karachi
  • Third T20I: December 16 – National Stadium, Karachi
  • First ODI: December 18 – National Stadium, Karachi
  • Second ODI: December 20 – National Stadium, Karachi
  • Third ODI: December 22 – National Stadium, Karachi

All matches will be played at the Karachi International Cricket Stadium in Pakistan.

WI Team news For First T20 Match ;-

West Indies have got plenty of exciting new talent to call on, despite missing Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Jason Holder, Shimron Hetmyer and Fabian Allen. There’s the trio of Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith and Dominic Drakes – all fast-bowling allrounders. Each can hit the speed gun as well as the white ball to considerable distances, and all three could be in action in the first T20I.

Dominic Drakes and Gudakesh Motie have been included in the T20 squad for the first time, while Justin Greaves, Shamarh Brooks, Odean Smith and Motie earn inaugural ODI call-ups.

The newcomers’ performance will offer indications of the strength of domestic Caribbean cricket, with each player selected after good showings in at least one of the CG Insurance Super50 or Caribbean Premier League.

West Indies XI (possible): 1 Brandon King, 2 Shai Hope, 3 Darren Bravo, 4 Nicholas Pooran (capt, wk), 5 Rovman Powell, 6 Romario Shepherd, 7 Odean Smith, 8 Dominic Drakes, 9 Akeal Hosein, 10 Hayden Walsh Jr, 11 Oshane Thomas


ODI ;-

Shai Hope (C) , Nicholas Pooran (Vc) , Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzari Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Oden Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh jr.

T20 ;-

Nicholas Pooran (C) , Shai Hope  (Vc) , Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell , Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brendon King, Kyle Mayers , Gudakesh Motie, Rowman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Oden Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh jr.

Where can I watch the series elsewhere in the world?

Australia: Fox Sports

New Zealand: Sky Sport NZ

South Africa: SuperSport

North America: Willow TV


Leave a Comment