WI vs Eng: Banton, Salt Named in England T20I squad For Five match series against West Indies series

Eoin Morgan Will Captain a 16 Player Squad For England T20I Matches against West Indies Next Month. The series consists of five matches to be played from Saturday, January 22 to Sunday, January 30 at the Kensington Oval, Bridgetown in Barbados

George Garton, David Payne, Phil Salt named in England T20I squad for West Indies Uncapped trio set to win opportunities in absence of players involved on Ashes tour.  The five-match series is due to start in Barbados four days after the final day of England’s fifth Test against Australia, and members of the Ashes squad were not considered for selection.

No players involved in the Ashes are included in a squad that does still contain 11 players who reached the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup in November.

There are four left-arm seamers in the squad despite injuries to Sam Curran and Willey, with Garton, Tymal Mills, Payne and Reece Topley all included.

Paul Collingwood will stand in as head coach, with Marcus Trescothick acting as his assistant coach. The ECB has also advertised for three roles as “support coaches” for the tour  one fast-bowling, one fielding wicketkeeping, one batting.

“We have selected a strong squad with some serious batting power and a balanced attack as we begin preparations ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia,” Collingwood said.  

“I have good memories winning a World Cup in Barbados and I’m really looking forward to going back there with this squad to face a very good West Indies who will test all aspects of our skills.” he added

England T20I squad: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, George Garton, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Tymal Mills, David Payne, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince


Leave a Comment