West Indies players who have signed up for the sixth season of Abu Dhabi T10 so far.

Abu Dhabi is gearing up for its 6th season and two new teams and some big names have been added for this season. Accordingly, the two newly joined teams are Morrisville Samp Army and New York Strikers.

Teams are currently selecting players for the sixth season and some big names have been named so far. Accordingly,

01. Deccan Gladiators
Gladiators have retained five players for the next season and they are West Indian all-rounder Andre Russell, West Indian fast bowler Odean Smith, Namibian player David Wiese, UAE player Zahoor Khan, and English player Tom Kohler-Cadmore.

02. New York Strikes

Strikes, a new franchise for T10, has selected four players so far and three of them have been named in three categories. Accordingly, former West Indies limited-overs captain, Kieron Pollard (captain) as an Icon player, former England captain Eoin Morgan as a platinum player, Irish player Paul Starling, and Pakistani player Azam Khan have been classified as category A.

03. Team Abu Dhabi
The Team Abu Dhabi franchise has also retained three players and two players have been named as Icon and Platinum. According to that, the players who have been retained are English players Phil Salt and Jamie Overton as well as Afghanistan’s Naveen Ul Haq. Australia’s devastating batsman Chris Lynn is the icon player and England’s Alex Hales is the platinum player.

04. Morrisville Samp Army
Samp Army have so far picked up four players for their first season, with South Africa’s devastating batsman David Miller as Icon Player as well as South Africa’s own Anrich Nortje as their Platinum Player. West Indies Shimron Hetmyer and England’s Moeen Ali have been selected under Category A.

05. Chennai Braves

Accordingly, the Braves have acquired five players so far.  Sri Lanka’s limited-overs captain Dasun Shanaka is their icon player (also captain), while Sri Lanka’s own young pacer Maheesh Theekshans, and devastating batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksha, as well as Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shezard, have been retained in their franchise for the sixth edition. In addition, West Indies all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite has been named as one of their platinum players.

06. Northern Warriors
West Indies Devastating middle order batsman Rowman Powell (captain), Kenner Lewis, and Reece Topley have been retained among the players selected for their sixth season. Also, Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga, the world’s leading spinner in the short format, has been signed as their icon player and Sherafane Rutherford as their platinum player.

07. Bangla Tigers
Tigers have so far selected five players for the sixth season and have retained Pakistan’s Mohammad Amir and Sri Lanka’s young fast bowler Matheesha Pathirana. Bangladesh’s number one all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan (captain) is their icon player and West Indies’ devastating opener Evin Lewis is their platinum play Also, Colin Munro of New Zealand has signed with Tigers under Category A.

08. Delhi Bulls

The bulls have selected five players for their franchise for this year’s T10 tournament. Accordingly, West Indies player Dominic Drakes, South Africa’s Rilee Rossouw, and Afghanistan’s Rahmnaullha Gurbaz are the players who have been retained. Former West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has been signed as one of their icon players (also captain) and Tim David as a platinum player.

The West Indies players named so far are; Andre Russell, Odean Smith, Kieron Pollard, Shimron Hetmyer, Carlos Brathwaite, Rowman Powell, Kenner Lewis, Sherafane Rutherford, Evin Lewis, Dominic Drakes, and Dwayne Bravo.

The league has seen significant year-on-year growth in viewership and economic value, with the 2021-2022 edition of the tournament reaching 342 million viewers across television and digital streaming compared to approximately 37 million viewers for the 2017 edition, with the league’s economic impact now at US$621.2 million.

The 2022 Abu Dhabi T10 tournament will be played from November 23 to December 4 at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, featuring a 10-over-a-side format of 90-minute duration.

Leave a Comment