“We remember the glory days of Windies cricket, we working on doing that”; Vice Captain Powell keen to start the NZ Series on positive note with a better performance

After a heartbreaking series loss against India, West Indies will now challenge New Zealand with the hope of bringing some joy back to their fans.

There’s hardly any preparation time as the T20I series against New Zealand is scheduled to start on 10th of August (Wednesday).

It will be followed by the ODI series from 17th of August, with Sabina Park at Jamaica set to host the two teams for the three T20Is.

They had to lose the series against India by 4-1. Accordingly, Powell joined ESPNcricinfo and stated that the goal is to bring a smile to the faces of the people and bring a winning start.

“That is always the mantra of West Indies players and teams. We are just trying to bring smiles back to the face of the people. We remember the glory days of West Indies cricket and the guys are working hard on doing that.”


International cricket is one sport that comes fast at you. So whether you are successful or not in your previous series, you have to put that fast behind you, and that is what the team is trying to do at the moment.

Speaking further, Vice-Captain Powell explained that there are more bad days than good days in cricket and it is important to trust in yourself as an individual.

“Some of the greatest motivation comes from within. We try to strengthen people’s personalities and try to help them to work on the positives and look at the bright side of life. In cricket, you have more bad days than good. The key is when you get those good days, you don’t get too high, and when you have bad days, you don’t get too low.”

West Indies 

Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (Captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

West Indies vs New Zealand Schedule:

10th August – First T20I

12th August – Second T20I

14th August – Third T20I

All the matches will be played at Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica.

Leave a Comment