“we look to make it three in 10 years” – Veteran Batter Johnson Charles eyes firmly on 3rd titles

T20 World Cup 2022 will get underway this Sunday with two matches in the opening round of the tournament.

(Image Courtesy ICC/Getty Images)

Defending champions Australia, England, New Zealand, Afghanistan (in Group 1), Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and South Africa (in Group 2) were the eight nations that received a direct ticket to the Super 12 stage. Four more spots are available in the second round.

For those four places, eight teams, namely Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE, Netherlands, Ireland, Scotland, Zimbabwe and West Indies will battle against each other from October 16 to 21.

The organizers have divided the eight teams into two groups of four each. Here are the two groups:

Group A – Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE and Netherlands.

Group B – West Indies, Scotland, Zimbabwe and Ireland.

West Indies began their 2021 T20 World Cup campaign at the Super 12 stage, but this time round they must progress through the group stage. They come into this match having won just two of their last nine T20i fixtures.

Nicholas Pooran will lead his West Indies lineup out against Scotland at Hobart in Group B on Monday.

“As a group we’re doing well, putting our ego aside, trying to move toward a team plan,” Pooran said after his team lost a two-game warmup series against Australia last week in Queensland state. “By the time of the World Cup … we’ll be ready.”

It’s been 10 years since the West Indies won their first T20 championship and Pooran is determined to make it back to the playoffs after a disappointing group-stage exit last year at the tournament played in United Arab Emirates and Oman but officially hosted by India.

Johnson Charles was a young batter in that winning squad in 2012, was also involved in the 2016 title and now he’s back as a veteran.

(Image Courtesy; Twitter)

“Ten years later it’s about trying to make it happen again for the people of the West Indies,” he said. “It feels good to be back and be part of the team as we look to make it three in 10 years. No other team has won it twice, so we have a rich legacy.”

The T20 WC kicks off on October 16 with a Group A match between Sri Lanka and Namibia.

Leave a Comment