“We are delighted that they joins the Knight Riders family” 6 West indies Players Signed By Abu Dhabi Knight Riders for UAE’s ILT20 league

Knight Riders Group-owned Abu Dhabi Knight Riders on Tuesday revealed the first 14 players who will be a part of their squad at the inaugural edition of the UAE’s International League T20.

The first-ever edition of UAE’s T20 league aka International League T20 is all set to begin next year. A total of six teams will battle it out for the coveted championship trophy in the inaugural season of the franchise-based league.

West Indies T20I specialists Andre Russell and Sunil Narine and 6 Caribbean Players are among the 14 signings of the Abu Dhabi Knight Riders for UAE’s International League T20 (ILT20). The franchise took to social media on Tuesday (August 16) to announce the list.

Also, England’s Jonny Bairstow signings for the First edition.

Here’s the full squad of the Abu Dhabi Knight Riders:

Sunil Narine (West Indies), Andre Russell (West Indies), Jonny Bairstow (England), Paul Stirling (Ireland), Lahiru Kumara (Sri Lanka), Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka), Colin Ingram (South Africa), Akeal Hosein (West Indies), Seekkuge Prasanna (Sri Lanka), Ravi Rampaul (West Indies), Raymon Reifer (West Indies), Kennar Lewis (West Indies), Ali Khan (United States of America), Brandon Glover (The Netherlands)

“We are looking forward to very competitive games and a lot of entertainment” – Knight Riders CEO Venky Mysore

Knight Riders CEO Venky Mysore, in an official statement on Tuesday, expressed his excitement over the signings of Andre Russell and Sunil Narine. He also mentioned how Jonny Bairstow is expected to play a big role for them in the tournament.

He stated:

“Firstly it’s great to see that our global footprint continues to grow in line with our vision & strategy. KKR in IPL, TKR in CPL and now ADKR in the ILT20. It’s also terrific that we have our mainstays – Sunil Narine and Andre Russell as part of ADKR. We are really delighted that Jonny Bairstow joins the Knight Riders family and will no doubt play a huge part in ADKR’s journey in ILT20.”

Mysore further welcomed the likes of Akeal Hosein, Ali Khan, Ravi Rampaul, Colin Ingram, and Seekkuge Prasanna, who have also earlier been a part of the Trinbago Knight Riders for the Caribbean Premier League. He said:

“We are also delighted that Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul, Ali Khan, Colin Ingram and Seekkuge Prasanna, who have been part of Trinbago Knight Riders before, are also a part of ADKR.”

“A big welcome to Paul Stirling, Charith Asalanka, Kennar Lewis, Lahiru Kumara, Raymon Reifer and Brandon Glover to the Knight Riders family. The ILT20 promises to be an exciting tournament and we are looking forward to very competitive games and a lot of entertainment.”

A total of 34 games are slated to be played in the first season of the tournament. Apart from Knight Riders, the Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals have also acquired teams in the UAE league.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Abu Dhabi Knight Riders (@adkriders)

Leave a Comment