Two West Indies players named in Test and ODI Team of the year named by Espncricinfo.

The ESPNcricinfo website named the Test ODI and T20 teams of the year and two West Indies players were named for there’s Test and ODI teams.

The team currently leading the World Test Championship table, four players from Australia as well as four players from England, and one each from West Indies, South Africa, and India were included in the Test team.

Accordingly, the West Indies, who were included in the Test team, were the red ball captain and opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite.

The red ball captain is the highest Test run scorer for West Indies in 2022. This Year was a very successful year for Kraigg as he scored 687 runs in 14 Test innings for the regional team at a high average of 62.45.

His 160 off 489 balls against a formidable England attack at the Kingston Oval is his highest score this year. The opener added two centuries and five fifties to his bag this year.

Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, and Stokes, who form the XI’s middle order, were among the top six run-scorers of the calendar year. Two others from that list of prolific batters, both Aussies, are also in our XI – Usman Khawaja opens the batting, while Marnus Labuschagne comes in at No. 3. Kraigg Brathwaite, West Indies’ sole representative in the side, partners Khawaja up top.

The fast-bowling attack consists of England’s James Anderson, who has appeared indefatigable in his 40th year, South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada, and Pat Cummins of Australia. Our XI might be tested in subcontinental conditions given it has only one frontline slow bowler, Australia offspinner Nathan Lyon, although he will get support from Root, who bowled over 140 overs of spin in the year.

India may be second on the WTC points table, but our staff combined to pick only one player from the side in Test XI – Rishabh Pant, who takes the gloves.

ESPNcricinfo named the 2022 Test Team: Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschange, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Rishabh pant, Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon, and James Anderson.

In addition, they had added Alzzari Joseph, the fast bowler of the regional team, to the ODI team of the year. Alzzari was the second-highest wicket-taker of the West team this year with 27 wickets in 17 matches. His average was 25.52 and his best bowling was 36/3.

Image Source: AFP/Getty Images

Babar Azam, who was prolific in 50-over cricket in 2022, making three hundred and five fifties in nine innings for Pakistan, leads our ODI XI and bats at No. 3 below openers Travis Head and Shubman Gill. India’s Shreyas Iyer, with over 700 runs at an average of 56, slots in at No. 4, followed by New Zealand keeper-batter Tom Latham and two off-spinning allrounders, Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza and Bangladesh’s Mehidy Hasan Miraz. Both made unbeaten hundreds in home wins, Raza getting two in a series win over Bangladesh in Harare, and Miraz getting his while handing India a series defeat in Mirpur.

They will lend support to our canny bowling attack in which Adam Zampa brings the wrist-spin option, while Trent Boult offers left-arm variety to Alzarri Joseph and Mohammed Siraj’s right-arm pace.

ESPNcricinfo Named ODITeam: Travis Head, Shubman Gill, Babar Azam, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham, Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan, Alzzari Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Adam Zampa, and Trent Boult.

In addition to this, they named the T20 Team of the Year and the Women’s Team of the Year.

ESPNcricinfo Named T20 Team: Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Rilee Rossouw, Suryakumar Yadav, David Miller, Hardik Pandya, Sam Curran, Wanindu Hasaranga, Rashid Khan, Haris Rauf, and Josh Little.

ESPNcricinfo Named Women’s Team of 2022: Smriti Mandhana, Beth Mooney, Alyssa Healy, Laura Wolvaardt, Harmanpreet Kaur, Amelia Kerr, and Nat Sciver. (All data from the ESPNcricinfo website.)

Leave a Comment