“Time to get TKR back to the top, and we Trinbagonians – we like to win, always” – Phil Simmons wants to see his new team back in winners

The eagerly anticipated 11th edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is on the brink of commencing this Wednesday (August 16), with a total of 34 thrilling T20 matches scheduled to take place over the next five weeks.

The excitement will kick off as the St Lucia Kings (SLK) take on the defending champions, Jamaica Tallawahs (JMT), in a riveting clash at Gros Islet.

Trinbago Knight Riders head coach Phil Simmons says he wants to see his new team back in winners row ahead of the start of the 2023 edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

Simmons’ team goes into action on Saturday against the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots at the same venue and the former T&T opener wants to put last season firmly in the past.

“I’m excited for the CPL. We had a challenging season last year, and we Trinbagonians – we like to win, always. I feel we have put together a very balanced squad with the right mix of experience and youth for this year,” said Simmons.

“Personally, it’s been a long time (since I last visited Trinidad), so very excited and It’s time to get TKR back to the top. It’s something that we all want, it’s something that we are all looking forward to as a group,” the TKR head coach added.

The Knight Riders finished bottom of the table in 2022 and failed to qualify for the playoffs for the first time.

Simmons was appointed head coach of the TKR team for the 2023 season replacing Abhishek Nayar.

The Knight Riders have regained the services of Dwayne Bravo, with Mark Deyal returning to the team and Khary Pierre going over to the Kings.

CPL matches will be played in St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, and Guyana.

Six matches will be played in Trinidad from 5-10 September.


Trinbago Knight Riders

Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Rilee Rossouw, Akeal Hosein, Noor Ahmad, Martin Guptill, Jayden Seales, Matheesha Pathirana, Mark Deyal, Chadwick Walton, Terrance Hinds, Kadeem Alleyne, Jaden Carmichael

Barbados Royals

Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Maheesh Theekshana (temporary replacement: Qais Ahmad – during Asia Cup), Laurie Evans, Alick Athanaze, Obed McCoy, Kevin Wickham, Roelof van der Merwe, Akeem Jordan, Rahkeem Cornwall, Donovan Ferreira, Justin Greaves, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Rivaldo Clarke, Ramon Simmonds

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Imran Tahir, Shimron Hetmyer, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Azam Khan, Shai Hope, Gudakesh Motie, Dwaine Pretorius, Kevlon Anderson, Kevin Sinclair, Keemo Paul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Ronsford Beaton, Matthew Nandu, Junior Sinclair

Jamaica Tallawahs

Imad Wasim, Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Mohammad Amir, Alex Hales, Chris Green, Jermaine Blackwood, Shamarh Brooks, Hayden Walsh Jr, Raymon Reifer, Amir Jangoo, Steven Taylor, Shamar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk McKenzie, Joshua James

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Shrefane Rutherford, Dominic Drakes, Sheldon Cottrell, George Linde, Yannic Cariah, Oshane Thomas, Corbin Bosch, Dewald Brevis, Jyd Goolie, Izharulhaq Naveed, Kofi James, Joshua da Silva, Ashmead Nedd, Johann Layne, Ambati Rayudu

St Lucia Kings

Faf du Plessis, Johnson Charles, Sean Williams, Alzarri Joseph, Roston Chase, Jair McAllister, Sikandar Raza, Peter Hatzoglou, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (temporary replacement: Chris Sole, first five group games), Roshon Primus, Jeavor Royal, Sadrack Descarte, Khary Pierre, Leonardo Julien, Matthew Forde, Kimani Melius, McKenny Clarke

Leave a Comment