“They Gives us the best chance of success in that tournament” – Desmond Haynes backs West Indies T20I squad vs England

West Indies cricket team unveiled a solid 15-men squad for a five-match WI vs ENG T20I series at home.

The biggest takeaway from Windies squad announcement for WI vs ENG T20I series was the return of star all-rounder Andre Russell.

Andre Russell, who last participated for West Indies in the 2021 T20 World Cup held in UAE, is making a return to the national team after a two-year gap.

Andre Russell is set to be part of the West Indies T20I squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 tournament, next year.

The upcoming West Indies vs England five-match T20I series will mark the conclusion of the West Indies’ home fixtures in 2023.

West Indies is one of the two host nations for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, set to be jointly hosted by West Indies and USA in June 2024.

Shai Hope, West Indies’ captain and stand-out batter in the ongoing ODIs, has been named as vice-captain to Rovman Powell, while Johnson Charles, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith and Oshane Thomas all miss out on selection having featured against India in August.

Matthew Forde, the uncapped 21-year-old allrounder, has also been named in the squad after his maiden call-up to the ODI set-up this month, while Sherfane Rutherford is also back in the T20 reckoning for the first time since 2020.

Gudakesh Motie, who impressed with his left-arm spin in the second ODI against England in Antigua, has been recalled to the squad after missing the recent India tour through injury. Nicholas Pooran and Jason Holder, both of whom have been unavailable for 50-over selection in recent months, also return.

“This will be the final home T20I series for the West Indies in 2023, as they prepare to be one of the two host teams for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies and USA in June 2024,” Desmond Haynes, CWI’s lead selector, said.

“We have selected a squad that we think gives us the best chance of success in that tournament. We will continue to assess in the lead up to the competition.”

The selection panel has the opportunity for squad adjustments ahead of the final two matches of the series, in Trinidad on December 19 and 21.

West Indies T20I squad for WI vs ENG T20I series: Rovman Powell (C), Shai Hope (VC), Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder,Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd

Leave a Comment