T20WC: Dinesh Karthik and Simon Doull pick their ‘Team of the Tournament’ for the 2021 Edition

Indian cricketer Dinesh Karthik and former New Zealand fast bowler Simon Doull have picked their ‘Team of the Tournament’ for the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup 2021. Karthik picked Babar Azam as the skipper of his eleven. Under Babar, Pakistan won all five of their matches in the Super 12. In fact,

“Would have ideally liked Morgan as he has been the best captain for me, but has not done enough as a batter. So, I went for Azam,” Karthik said. Karthik picked Jasprit Bumrah as the only Indian in his lineup.

Doull, on the other hand, lauded Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka, who’s third on the list of leading run-scorers in the ongoing tournament. He also Picked Babar for the best skipper of the this Tournament.

“Asalanka has been a revelation. No reputation at all, this is purely on tournament merit. Best skipper as far as I’m concerned has been Babar Azam.

‘Markram has been impressive, he is an option with the ball as well. Can’t go past Ali and Malik, they’ve won and finished games. Needed some raw pace to ruffle feathers and knock some helmets off, and for that I have gone for Haris Rauf,” Doull said.

Dinesh Karthik’s XI

Babar Azam (C), Jos Buttler, Charith Asalanka, Rassie van der Dussen, Shakib Al Hasan, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Adam Zampa, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah and Shaheen Afridi.

Simon Doull’s XI

Babar Azam (C), Jos Buttler, Charith Asalanka, Aiden Markram, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Josh Hazlewood, Trent Boult and Haris Rauf.



Leave a Comment