Seven West Indies players have been picked for 2nd season of SA20 2024 – Check Full List here!

The SA20 Auction took place on Wednesday (September 27). The auction for the 2nd edition of the franchise tournament saw the six franchises formulate their team for the upcoming season.

The second season of SA20 will start from January 10, 2024 as Joburg Super Kings will take on inaugural season winners Sunrisers Eastern Cape in the first match.

The six teams who will take part in SA20 are – Durban Super Giants, Paarl Royals, MI Cape Town, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, Joburg Super Kings, and Pretoria Capitals. Ahead of that, let’s take a look at the squads of all six teams ahead of the SA20 2024.

West Indies T20 sensation, Nicholas Pooran, was unveiled as the Durban’s Super Giants wildcard pick, This will be Pooran’s first time playing the tournament and he will represent the same owners he plays for in the Indian Premier League. The 27-year old delivered a recent reminder of his capabilities with a 51-ball hundred at the Caribbean Premier League where his team, Trinbago Knight Riders, was part of the final. He was the highest scorer in the inaugural Major League Cricket tournament in the USA earlier this year, a performance that helped the team he was captaining, MI New York, win the title. In all, Pooran has 5861 T20 runs at a strike rate of 144 across a career that spans 292 matches and 10 years.

Romario Shepherd and Derbyshire batter Wayne Madsen for R 850,000 each. Former South Africa legspinner and CPL 2023-winning captain Imran Tahir was JSK’s wildcard pick.

MI Cape Town have brought in Kieron Pollard to fill in for Rashid Khan and play the first three matches of the new season starting January 10.

Full squads

Durban’s Super Giants
Keshav Maharaj (capt), Quinton de Kock, Kyle Mayers, Naveen-ul-Haq, Reece Topley, Heinrich Klaasen, Dwaine Pretorius, Keemo Paul, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dilshan Madushanka, Kyle Abbott, Junior Dala, JJ Smuts, Prenelan Subrayen, Matthew Breetzke, Wiaan Mulder, *Nicholas Pooran, Jason Smith, Bryce Parsons (rookie)

Joburg Super Kings
Faf du Plessis, Gerald Coetzee, Moeen Ali, David Wiese, Zahir Khan, Sam Cook, Leus Du Plooy, Reeza Hendricks, Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger, Donovan Ferreira, Aaron Phangiso, Bongumusa Makhanya, Kyle Simmonds, Wayne Madsen, Dayyaan Galiem, Romario Shepherd, Imran Tahir, Ronan Hermann (rookie)

MI Cape Town
Rashid Khan/Kieron Pollard, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Olly Stone, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Dewald Brevis, Ryan Rickleton, Grant Roelofsen, Delano Potgieter, Tom Banton, Christopher Benjamin, Nealan van Hearden, Thomas Kaber, Connor Esterhuizen (rookie)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape
Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman, Marco Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Sisanda Magala, Adam Rossington, Brydon Carse, Sarel Erwee, Ayabulela Gqamane, Tom Abell, Jordan Hermann, Liam Dawson, Simon Harmer, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Temba Bavuma, Caleb Seleka, Beyers Swanepoel, Andile Simelane (rookie)

Pretoria Capitals
Will Jacks, Shane Dadswell, Rilee Rossouw, Colin Ingram, Theunis de Bruyn, James Neesham, Senuran Muthusamy, Corbin Bosch, Adil Rashid, Anrich Nortje, Eathan Bosch, Wayne Parnell, Migael Pretorius, Phil Salt, Paul Stirling, Kyle Verreynne, Matthew Boast, Daryn Dupavillon, Steve Stolk (rookie)

Paarl Royals
David Miller, Evan Jones, Jason Roy, Wihan Lubbe, Andile Phehlukwayo, Ferisco Adams, Mitchell van Buuren, Dane Vilas, Jos Buttler, Bjorn Fortuin, Codi Yusuf, Kwena Maphaka, Lungi Ngidi, Obed McCoy, Tabraiz Shamsi, Fabian Allen, John Turner, Lorcan Tucker, Lhuan-dre Pretorius (rookie)

1 thought on “Seven West Indies players have been picked for 2nd season of SA20 2024 – Check Full List here!”

Leave a Comment