LPL 2022: Jaffna Kings sign Ewin Lewis for Lanka Premier League 2022

Lanka Premier League 2022 ‘Player Draft’, is set to be conducted this morning (5th July).

All five franchises, Jaffna Kings, Galle Gladiators, Dambulla Giants, Colombo Stars, and Kandy Warriors have submitted their full list of retained players and direct signings for the upcoming season.

The five franchises can retain up to six players, 4 local and 2 foreign players from the previous year’s squad.

They can also directly sign 2 local and 2 foreign players ahead of the ‘ LPL 2022 Player Draft ’.

A total of 353 have been included in the player draft for the third season of the Lanka Premier League.

Of that total a majority are overseas players, with former West Indian T20I captain Carlos Braithwaite, along with his Teammates, Fabian Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell and Ravi Rampaul among the 180 foreign players who have submitted their names to participate in this year’s edition.

Meanwhlie, The defending champions, Jaffna Kings have direct signing West Indies opening batter Evin Lewis for Lanka Premier League season 3.

The 30-year-old left-hander had Played Lucknow Super Giants in the Indian Premier League (IPL) last month also he had good IPL Season but he has not Played West Indies in last eight months.

They have also added two local players as direct signings – Dunith Wellalage and batting all-rounder Dhananjaya De Silva and the had another overseas direct sign with Hardus Vilojen.

Lanka Premier League season 3 Set to start on the 31st of July 2022 and will be played at the R. Premadasa International Stadium, Colombo, and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota.

Leave a Comment