LIVE UPDATES : “Very important game for us. We know what we have to do as a team.” – Nicholas Pooran

West Indies and Sri Lanka are all set to face other in the Super 12 match of the T20 World Cup 2021 on Thursday, November 4 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The Lankans, led by Dasun Shanaka, have already been shown the door of elimination after their 26-run loss against England. The Islanders can finish third at best if they manage to take down the Caribbean team in their next game. Sri Lanka started the tournament with four wins on the trot, but are on a three-match losing streak.

West Indies, on the other hand, have flattered to deceive being the defending champions. Pollard’s men lost their first two games by six and eight wickets respectively after which their net run rate also took a hammering. Mathematically, they have a chance of qualifying for the semis.

West Indies have won the toss and will bowl first.  West Indies are unchanged. Only one change for Sri Lanka, with Binura replacing Lahiru Kumara

Nicholas Pooran describes West Indies’ batting so far as ‘reckless’ and says they are paying for it now, with the situation they are in. “Very important game for us. We know what we have to do as a team. We haven’t executed the whole tournament and that’s something we want to do today. No excuses. Just try and do ourselves some justice today. This is the best batting wicket in the UAE, in Abu Dhabi. We haven’t been smart, crucial moments of the game losing wickets. Not taking it deep enough as a team, not setting it up. We were reckless as a batting group to be honest and we are paying for it now. As a batsman, I haven’t done myself justice. I have been giving my wicket away.

Playing XIs: Sri Lanka: 1 Pathum Nissanka, 2 Kusal Perera (wk), 3 Charith Asalanka, 4 Avishka Fernando, 5 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Chamika Karunaratne, 8 Wanindu Hasaranga, 9 Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Maheesh Theekshana 11 Binura Fernando

West Indies: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Roston Chase, 4 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 5 Shimron Hetmyer, 6 Kieron Pollard (capt), 7 Andre Russell, 8 Jason Holder, 9 Dwayne Bravo, 10 Akeal Hosein, 11 Ravi Rampaul




Leave a Comment