Kieron Pollard returns to Pakistan Super League after replacement drafts for 2023 edition – Check Full List Here !

Former West Indies captain Kieron Pollard will return to the Pakistan Super League for the first time since 2019 after Multan Sultans selected him in the replacement draft.

The draft, which took place on a conference call yesterday, allowed each PSL side to add two additional players as well as name half-replacements for the limited ones. Each team was allowed a maximum of one foreign player between the two supplementary selections.

Haris Sohail, who recently returned to the Pakistan ODI squad for the first time since 2020, has been selected by his former team Peshawar Zalmi. Besides, Shakeel will play for Quetta Gladiators.

There were a number of replacement selections due to ongoing issues for the PSL period, primarily a bilateral series between West Indies and South Africa as well as possible international commitments for Afghanistan.

A white-ball series between England and Bangladesh for much of the PSL means that several England players will also need to be partially replaced, with Adil Rashid, Moeen Ali, and Jason Roy likely to be unavailable.

Platinum Division Lahore Qalandars picked Sam Billings for Rashid Khan. Richard Gleeson replaces Peshawar Zalmi Rovman Powell; Islamabad United picked Gus Atkinson and Tymal Mills for Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Alex Hales.

Also, Multan Sultans replaced David Miller with Isharul Haq Naveed. Quetta have reserved their pick for Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga, who will leave the tournament on March 3, meaning he will be available for Quetta’s first 6 matches.

In the Diamond Group, Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi have reserved their picks for Fazalhaq Farooqui and Mujeeb ur Rehman. Quetta Gladiators picked Dwaine Pretorius and Will Jacks for Odean Smith and Jason Roy.

picture source: Getty Images

The PSL tournament will begin on February 13 in Multan and the final will be held on March 19 in Lahore.

Additional and Substitute Choices:

Peshawar Zalmi – Extras: Khurram Shahzad and Haris Sohail. Replacement: Richard Gleeson

Lahore Qalandars – Additional: Ahsan Bhatti. Subs: Sam Billings, Shane Dudswell, and Kusal Mendis

Islamabad United – Subs: Tom Curran and Zafar Gohar. Substitutions: Gus Atkinson and Tymal Mills

Karachi Kings – Extras: Ben Cutting and Musa Khan. Replacement: Faisal Akram

Quetta Gladiators – Extras: Qais Ahmed and Saud Shakeel. Substitutions: Dwayne Pretorius, Will Jacks, and Nuwan Thushara

Multan Sultans – Extras: Kieron Pollard and Ammad Butt. Substitutions: Wayne Parnell and Ishaarulhaq Naveed.

Player retentions were announced on November 11. The PSL draft took place on Thursday, December 15. A replacement draft was then held on January 25.

Islamabad United

Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Colin Munro, Paul Stirling, Alex Hales, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abrar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood, Rumman Raees, Zeeshan Zamir, Hassan Nawaz, Moeen Ali, Mubasir Khan, Tom Curran, Zafar Gohar, Gus Atkinson (partial replacement for Rahmanullah Gurbaz), Tymal Mills (partial replacement for Alex Hales)

Karachi Kings

Haider Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shoaib Malik, Aamir Yamin, Mir Hamza, Sharjeel Khan, Qasim Akram, Matthew Wade, Imran Tahir, James Vince, James Fuller, Andrew Tye, Tayyab Tahir, Mohammad Akhlaq, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Tabraiz Shamsi, Mohammad Umar, Ben Cutting, Musa Khan, Faisal Akram (partial replacement for Tabraiz Shamsi)

Lahore Qalandars

Rashid Khan, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, David Wiese, Abdullah Shafique, Harry Brook, Kamran Ghulam, Zaman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, Liam Dawson, Dilbar Hussain, Mirza Tahir Baig, Ahmed Danlyal, Shawaiz Irfan, Jordan Cox, Jalat Khan, Ahsan Bhatti, Sam Billings (partial replacement for Rashid Khan), Shane Dadswell (replacement for Harry Brook), Kusal Mendis (partial replacement for Jordan Cox)

Multan Sultans

Mohammad Rizwan, Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw, Shan Masood, Shahnawaz Dahani, Tim David, Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah, David Miller, Josh Little, Akeal Hosein, Usama Mir, Usman Khan, Sameen Gul, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Sarwar, Adil Rashid, Arafat Minhas, Kieron Pollard, Ammad Butt, Wayne Parnell (partial/full replacement for Adil Rashid), Izharulhaq Naveed (partial replacement for David Miller)

Peshawar Zalmi

Babar Azam, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Haris, Aamir Jamal, Salman Irshad, Tom-Kohler Cadmore, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Rovman Powell, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Danish Aziz, Arshad Iqbal, Saim Ayub, Usman Qadir, Suifyan Muqeem, Haseeb Ullah, Jimmy Neesham, Khurram Shahzad, Haris Sohail, Richard Gleeson (partial replacement for Rovman Powell)

Quetta Gladiators

Mohammad Nawaz, Iftikhar Ahmed, Jason Roy, Mohammad Hasnain, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Naveen ul Haq, Umar Akmal, Will Smeed, Wanindu Hasaranga, Naseem Shah, Odean Smith, Ahsan Ali, Umaid Asif, Muhammad Zahid, Abdul Bangalzai, Aimal Khan, Martin Guptill, Omair Bin Yousuf, Qais Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Dwaine Pretorius (partial replacement for Odean Smith), Will Jacks (partial replacement for Jason Roy), Nuwan Thushara (partial replacement for Naveen ul Haq)

Leave a Comment