Key players rested as West Indies announce squad for T20I series against South Africa – Check Full Squad Here!

West Indian all-rounders Rovman Powell and Andre Russell have both failed to turn up for the upcoming T20I series against South Africa. Apart from these two, several other players are also set to remain in India for the crucial IPL playoffs. This includes Shimron Hetmyer, Alzarri Joseph and Sherfane Rutherford.

Nicholas Pooran and Shai Hope have not been drafted into the squad and are given some rest before they resume their national duties. On the other hand, Sherfane Rutherford and Alzarri Joseph are expected to be a part of the squad if their respective franchises- KKR and RCB fail to make it to the finals of the IPL.

West Indies will be playing their first of the T20I’s on 24th May, the second one on 26th May and the third on 27th May. Post that the next competitive competition for the Caribbean side will be against Papua New Guinea on the 2nd of June in the first game of the T20 World Cup.

What is the full squad of West Indies for the upcoming tour?

In the absence of Rovman Powell, Brandon King has been named as the standing captain. Apart from King, many players have been given green signal who failed to make the cut for the provisional squad released for the World T20:

Full Squad

Brandon King (capt), Roston Chase, Alick Athanaze, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Mathew Forde, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh.

Leave a Comment