Jason Holder Among 25-plus Names Signed Up By South Africa T20 League

Although no date has been set for the new T20 league in South Africa which is scheduled to start in January, the league is likely to start on January 11 next year with the final on February 12.


Players’ salaries are offered up to USD 300,000. Led by former South African captain Graeme Smith, the league will be played by six franchises with a purse of $2 million to acquire players.

England devastating batsmen Jos Buttler, Liam Livingstone and Moeen Ali as well as West Indies all-rounder Jason Holder have signed up to play in South Africa’s new T20 league.

Jose Butler

Another devastating player in the shorter format, England’s Butler has scored 8313 runs in 321 T20 matches. It has 54 fifties and 6 centuries and a strike rate of 144.90. He is highly valued in leagues around the world and has signed up for the newly launched T20 league in South Africa.

Liam Livingstone

England’s Liam Livingstone is known as another fierce player in the short format. He has scored 4791 runs in 193 T20 matches with a strike rate of 146.64 with two centuries and 28 fifties. He is also a signee for South Africa’s new T20 league.

Moeen Ali

Ali is another talented all-rounder from England who plays in many leagues around the world. He excels with bat as well as ball at any time of need and has scored 5173 runs and 168 wickets in 238 T20 matches. Ali is another signing with the new South Africa T20 League.

Jason Holder

West Indies player Jason Holder is a superb all-rounder who plays in various leagues around the world. He is highly valued in every league. he has taken 169 wickets in 177 T20 matches while bowling. Also he has scored 1482 runs. He is also a player who has signed with the new South African league.

Dominated by IPL owners, this CSA league will become the highest paying league in the world after IPL.

The CSA’s league includes 10 South African players and seven foreign players in each 17-man squad.

The final playing XI composition here will follow the IPL format with seven local players and a maximum of four foreign players.

Mumbai Indians owners bought the Cape Town team, Lucknow Super Giants owners bought the Durban franchise, Gqeberha team bought the Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals owners bought the team in Paarl, JSW Sports, co-owners of Delhi Capitals, bought the Pretoria side and Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited bought the Johannesburg franchise.

Jos Buttler, Liam Livingstone, Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, and Tymal Mills are some of the English players who have already signed on; other names include Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Harry Tector.

Additionally, all of the best T20 cricket players from South Africa are already signed up for their own “local” competition. The list is currently a work in progress.

West Indian Players’ Availability For South African T20 League Still Unknown

Kieron Pollard is a member of the Mumbai Indians, but it is unknown if the Trinidadian would be available for the league in South Africa or the UAE.

Sunil Narine and Andre Russell have joined the Kolkata Knight Riders, while Shimron Hetmeyer and Rovman Powell have joined GMR, the 50% owner of the Delhi Capitals who has invested in the UAE league.

The CSA league is yet to make an official announcement about the auction dates and other details including a salary cap and salary slab.

Leave a Comment