IPL Incredible Awards: Including Two West Indies Players Star Sports announces winners of various awards for celebrating 15 years of IPL history

Broadcaster Star Sports celebrated 15 years of the Indian Premier League (IPL). They announced various awards on the occasion, the results of which have been announced now. As many as 6 awards were given with 2 players each from Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders winning it.

On Monday (February 20), the awards were presented in different categories, including Best Batter, Best Captain and many more.
Former India players Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan were on the jury for the award ceremony.

List of the Award Winners from the Star Sports Incredible Awards:

Here is the complete list of award winners from the Star Sports IPL Award programme-

Best Captain: Rohit Sharma

India and Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma got the award in the Best Captain category. The Mumbai Indians skipper has led his team to four IPL titles, as MI have won 5 IPL titles in total, making them the most successful franchise in the tournament’s history.

Best Batter: AB De Villiers

Royal Challengers Bangalore stalwart AB de Villiers was awarded the best batter in the league. The former Proteas batter has had a massive impact in the league and has many times bailed his side out of trouble and has single-handedly won the game for his side. In 184 games in the league, he has scored 5162 runs at an average and strike rate of 39.71 and 151.69 to go with 3 tons and 40 half-centuries.

Best Bowler:

Jasprit Bumrah Mumbai Indians spearhead Jasprit Bumrah won the award for the best bowler in the IPL in the last 15 years. The Indian pacer has picked up 145 wickets for MI since his debut in 2013, and has been a pivotal part of the Mumbai squad throughout the last ten years or so.

Incredible Overall Impact Player: Andre Russell

Kolkata Knight Riders’ all-rounder Andre Russell was given the Overall Impact award for his role with both bat and all. The West Indies player has been a vital cog in the Knight’s setup and is one of the most fearsome batters in T20 history. He has won KKR many matches single-handedly in the past and thus has been deemed as the most impactful player in IPL.

Best Batting Performance in a Season: Virat Kohli

Former RCB captain Virat Kohli was given the “Incredible batting performance” award for his fantastic batting in the 2016 IPL season. Kohli scored 973 runs in that season with 4 centuries, as RCB reached the final that year.

Best Bowling Performance in a Season: Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine got the award for best performance with the ball in a season for his debut year with KKR in 2012. The spinning wizard picked up 24 wickets in that season at an economy of 5.5, thus helping the Knight Riders to win the IPL for the first time in their history in that year.

Leave a Comment