IPL 2022 ,PBKS vs RCB Highlights : Odean Smith Star As Punjab Kings Beat RCB By 5 Wickets

Punjab Kings on Sunday defeated RCB by 5 wickets in the ongoing IPL 2022 season. Punjab Kings produced a solid batting display at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Chasing a target of 206, PBKS chased down the target with one over to go, thanks largely to Shahrukh Khan and Odean Smith’s late surge.

Smith’s eight-ball 25*, of which he scored 23 in the 18th over bowled by Mohammed Siraj, shifted the momentum in Kings’ favour and bring down the equation to 11 from the final two overs.

Shahrukh Khan (24* / 20b) applied the finishing touches scoring 12 runs off the 19th over by Harshal Patel to make sure Kings didn’t suffer late hiccups like last season, taking the team home with an over to spare.

Shahrukh and Smith stitched an unbeaten partnership of 52 after RCB had pegged back PBKS with quick wickets.

Earlier, Faf du Plessis led the way with a fine 88, while cameos from Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik powered RCB to a massive total of 205 for two.

While Du Plessis showed his six-hitting prowess, hammering seven maximums in his whirlwind knock, Virat Kohli also chipped in with an unbeaten 41 off 29 balls and Dinesh Karthik made a quick fire 32 not out as RCB posted a massive 205 for 2 after being invited to bat.

The chase was steep but not impossible and Punjab produced a sensational effort to overhaul the target, scoring 208 for 5 with an entire over to spare.

While Mayank Agarwal (32 off 24) and Shikhar Dhawan (43 off 29) added 71 for the first wicket to lay the foundation for the chase, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (43 off 22) also shone on his IPL debut but Punjab suffered a collapse to be down and out at 156 for 5.

However, Shahrukh Khan (24 not out off 20 balls) and Odean Smith (25 not out off 8 balls) then joined hands to complete the job in the end. The duo shared a 52-run unbroken stand off just 25 balls for the sixth wicket to take Punjab home.

Smith smashed three sixes and a four off Mohammed Siraj in the 18th over to accumulate 25 runs and bring down the equation to 11 from the final two overs.

Shahrukh, who hit one four and two maximums, finished the game with a boundary as Mayank Agarwal started his captaincy tenure with a win.

Earlier, RCB skipper du Plessis and Kohli added 118 runs for the second wicket after the former and Anuj Rawat (21) had laid the foundation with their 50 run-stand.

RCB amassed 11 ‘extra’ runs, off the second over off Arshdeep Singh. Du Plessis got his first boundary in the third, while in the same over, Rawat hit his first maximum, as RCB raced to 23/0.

Rawat hit successive boundaries in the sixth over, off Odean Smith. But leg-spinner Rahul Chahar (1/22) cut shot Rawat’s stay by cleaning him up in the seventh over.

Kohli came in and he took time to settle down.

After successive twos, Kohli’s first maximum came in the 10th over as RCB fetched 13 runs off it and at 70/1, the foundation was laid for a big total.

The former South Africa skipper, as the carnage started from the 12th over when he hammered a towering six off Liam Livingstone.

Du Plessis was brutal on Odean Smith, whom he hammered for a boundary and two successive sixes. He followed it up with two sixes off Harpreet Brar (0/38).

Kohli, who hit a four and two sixes, was also in his elements, as he played shots at will. He, however, played second fiddle to Du Plessis when the South African was in full flow.

Du Plessis was dismissed in the 18th over, but by then the damage had been done.

A quick-fire 32 from Karthik off just 14 balls, in which he smashed three sixes and as many fours, took RCB beyond the 200-run mark.

After being put on to bat first, Du Plessis and Anuj Rawat gave RCB a solid start, adding 50 runs for the first wicket before the latter was dismissed in the 7th over.

RCB continued to pile on the runs as the captain and Kohli added 118 runs for the second wicket. However, Du Plessis missed out on his century, before Dinesh Karthik added much-needed fireworks to RCB’s innings.

For Punjab Kings, Rahul Chahar and Arshdeep Singh took a wicket apiece.

 Odean Smith get the Player of the match in his IPL Debut for his eight-ball 25 

Leave a Comment