International League T20: Dubai Capitals appoint WI all-rounder Rovman Powell as captain – Check Full Details

GMR Sports-owned Dubai Capitals have appointed Rovman Powell as their captain in the inaugural ILT20 League.

The West Indies all-rounder plays for Delhi Capitals in the IPL and will lead the side in the International League T20. He was one of the few players Delhi Capitals retained.

Sri Lankaโ€™s white-ball skipper Dasun Shanaka will be the vice-captain of the side.

Dubai Capitals will kick off their inaugural campaign against Abu Dhabi Knight Riders on January 13.

Apart from Powell and Shanaka, Capitals have roped the likes of Dushmantha Chameera, Bhanuka Rajapaksha, Fabian Allen besides Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Fixtures for the inaugural edition of the International League T20 (ILT20) have been announced, and Dubai Capitals will lock horns with Abu Dhabi Knight Riders in the opening game on January 13, 2023.

The grand finale of the brand-new league will be played on February 12.

All six teams, namely Dubai Capitals, Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, Gulf Giants, MI Emirates, Sharjah Warriors and Desert Vipers, will face each other twice during the league-stage encounters.

The top four teams will then be matched up to play one eliminator and two qualifiers โ€“ just like it happens in the Indian Premier League (IPL) โ€“ to identify the two finalists.

The competition will set the UAE-cricketing stage on fire with stars such as Shimron Hetmyer, Moeen Ali, Kieron Pollard, and Wanindu Hasaranga.

Dubai Capitals squad: Rovman Powell, Hazratullah Zazai, Daniel Lawrence, George Munsey, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Niroshan Dickwella, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Fabian Allen, Isuru Udana, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Dushmantha Chameera, Fred Klaassen, Blessing Muzarabani

Leave a Comment