ICC announces Shivnarine Chanderpaul Inducted Into ICC Hall Of Fame; “It’s an amazing honour..’ says Shiv Chanderpaul

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announces the latest legends who join the prestigious list of cricketing greats that make up the ICC Hall of Fame.

The ICC Hall of Fame celebrates the greatest players ever to grace the game throughout its rich history, and these three individuals have all left a lasting legacy through their significant contributions to the sport.

Following a voting process that ICC included Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Charlotte Edwards and Abdul Qadir as the latest legends.

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said: “The ICC Hall of Fame continues to celebrate the iconic individuals that have shaped the history of cricket. Only the very best are honoured in this way and it is wonderful to commemorate the lasting contributions of Shivnarine, Charlotte and Abdul. These three ambassadors of our great game enjoyed tremendous success on the international stage and are richly deserving of their status as ICC Hall of Famers.”

The left-handed Chanderpaul played at the international level for over a 21-year international career and He became the rock of the West Indies batting lineup.

He made his Test debut in 1994 at age 19 against England at Bourda in Guyana.

He played 164 Test matches and scored 11,867 runs at an average of 51.37, which included 30 centuries and eventually become the second West Indian to reach 10,000 Test runs.

Chanderpaul also excelled in ODIs, amassing 8,778 runs with 11 centuries at an average of 41.60 in 268 outings while in 22 T20 Internationals he made 343 runs.

His first-class career was outstanding with 27,545 runs in 385 matches at an average of over 53. He had 77 centuries including a career-best of 303 not out for Guyana against Jamaica.

On the news of his induction, Chanderpaul commented: “It’s an amazing honour to follow the footsteps of many legends and so many other great cricketers of the past. I’m grateful for the recognition and would like to enjoy the moment with family, friends and most importantly the West Indies cricket fans and fans around the world who passionately supported me throughout my career.”

West Indians previously inducted into The ICC Hall of Fame:

Sir Curtly Ambrose, Sir Learie Constantine, Joel Garner, Lance Gibbs, Sir Gordon Greenidge, Sir Wes Hall, the Most Hon. Desmond Haynes, George Headley, Michael Holding, Rohan Kanhai, Brian Lara, Sir Clive Lloyd, Malcolm Marshall, Sir Viv Richards, Sir Andy Roberts, Sir Garry Sobers, Courtney Walsh, Sir Clyde Walcott, Sir Everton Weekes, Sir Frank Worrell.

Leave a Comment