‘Don’t give up’ – Samuel Badree expects good things from Windies youths at ICC T20 World Cup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has launched the official campaign video for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, marking the beginning of the 100-day countdown for the event.

The film showcases the various locations of the T20 World Cup games in the West Indies and USA, capturing the excitement surrounding the tournament.

With just 100 days remaining until the much-anticipated event unfolds from 1 June to 29 June, the remaining tickets for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and USA will now be available on general sale.

Trinidad was selected as one of seven host nations, with the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba announced as one of the stadiums to host four group matches and one semifinal clash.

On Thursday, each host nation held a launch of the tournament’s 100 days to go.

The Trinidad leg was held at C3 Centre in Corinth, San Fernando, with organizers, stakeholders and even two West Indies T20 World Cup title holders — Samuel Badree and Ravi Rampaul —urging fans to come out in support of the prestigious global sporting event.

Badree, who is one of eight West Indians to have lifted the T20 World Cup trophy twice, in 2012 and 2016, and was also rated as the world’s top T20 bowler, encouraged parents to get their children more involved in sport, and by extension, any outdoor activity.

The former Red Force and WI spinner, now an international cricket commentator, also shared parts of his personal and athletic journey with the youngsters present and related to them a contrasting background to his current success.

Badree got emotional as he reminisced about growing up in rural Barrackpore, in a single-parent home.

“My mother was the sole breadwinner. And she was a school vendor, she sold in a nearby school I attended. And the money she got from selling on a daily basis, that is what she used to send me to secondary school,” he said.

Despite coming from a “low socio-economic background”, which he described as “abject poverty,” Badree thrived as a young cricketer.

He played for over a decade with TT, between 2001 and 2012, but was never selected to the West Indies senior team, even though he was part of the 2008 Stanford T20 winning team, and also won multiple Caribbean T20 tournaments.

Although dismayed by his non-selection during that time, Badree was eventually selected for the T20 World Cup in 2012, which they went on to win. He urged the youngsters never to give up.

“The (West Indies) selectors went through every single spin bowler in the region, maybe even giving them a second chance, before I was selected. But despite my dismay, I persisted.

“And I want to tell you today, that do not ever give up on your dreams and aspirations. I might not happen when you want to happen, but it will when God wants it to happen. Do not give up. You might be discouraged, as I was, but do not give up on your dreams,” Badree said.

Also making short remarks on behalf of the local organizing committee was Douglas Camacho.

Joining Badree at the launch were fellow 2012 T20 World Cup winner Ravi Rampaul and former West Indies women’s captain Merissa Aguilleira – who also captained the team to the 2016 Women’s T20 World Cup crown.

This year’s World Cup will be the ninth edition of the tournament and the second senior men’s cricket world tournament to be held in the West Indies after the 2007 50-over World Cup (won by Australia).

The defending champions are England. West Indies are two-time champions, winning in 2012 and 2016.

West Indies are looking to surpass the venue attendance of the last T20 World Cup (2022) in Australia (attendance 751, 597).

Venues: Three in the US (Florida, Dallas, New York)

Six in the Caribbean (Guyana, Barbados, Antigua, Trinidad and Tobago, St Vincent and the Grenadines, St Lucia).
The semi-finals will be hosted in Guyana and TT; the final will be held in Barbados.

Teams: USA, Canada, West Indies, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Oman, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Afghanistan, Uganda, Scotland, England, Netherlands, Nepal, India, Ireland, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, Bangladesh.

Leave a Comment