Cricket Australia XI squad announced: Peter Handscomb to captain West Indies three-day warm-up opposition

The Australia Cricket National Selection Panel (NSP) have announced a 12-man squad for the game which will see Australia XI take on the West Indies in a three-day tour match.

Peter Handscomb will lead a Cricket Australia XI at Adelaide’s Karen Rolton Oval from January 12 as the inexperienced West Indies side prepares for the two-Test series in Adelaide and Brisbane.

The Kraigg Brathwaite led 15-man Windies squad featuring seven uncapped players will face Australia. first Test will begin on January 16 in Adelaide before the teams move to Brisbane for the second Test to begin on January 24.

After ruling himself out of the current Big Bash League season to get his mind and body right for Sheffield Shield in February, Peter Handscomb has been named team captain and will headline the squad as he looks to get back into the Australian team.

Handscomb’s Victorian teammate Doug Warren has also been selected into the squad, while Western Australia and Tasmania have three players named in the squad. South Australia has two in Harry Conway and Liam Scott, whilst New South Wales and Queensland are only represented by one player.

“CA XI matches provide an excellent opportunity for some of our up-and-coming players on the domestic scene to face international opposition as well as rewarding consistent performers,” NSP Chair of Selectors George Bailey said in a statement on Wednesday.

“The mix of the squad combines players who are well established at First Class level with those who are also just starting out at the level. The squad selected consists of players currently not playing in the Big Bash League.

“It’s an exciting opportunity for recent Sheffield Shield debutants like Liam Haskett, Jack Nisbet and Doug Warren to play alongside and learn from established domestic cricketers and against a touring international side.

“Peter Handscomb will captain the CA XI and will have strong support from other proven leaders within the squad.”

CA XI squad vs. West Indies, Karen Rolton Oval, January 12-14

Peter Handscomb (VIC – St Kilda Cricket Club) (c)

Jack Clayton (QLD – University of Queensland Cricket Club)

Harry Conway (SA – Glenelg District Cricket Club)

Jake Doran (TAS – University of Tasmania Cricket Club)

Jayden Goodwin (WA – Subiaco-Floreat Cricket Club)

Liam Haskett (WA – Claremont-Nedlands Cricket Club)

Bradley Hope (TAS – University of Tasmania Cricket Club)

Jack Nisbet (NSW – Mosman Cricket Club)

Liam Scott (SA – Glenelg District Cricket Club)

Tim Ward (TAS – University of Tasmania Cricket Club)

Doug Warren (VIC – Melbourne University Cricket Club)

Teague Wyllie (WA – Rockingham Mandurah Cricket Club)

Head coach: Adam Griffith

Assistant coach – Batting: Mark Cosgrove

Assistant coach – Bowling: Chadd Sayers

The ‘Men in Maroon’ will then turn their attention to three ODIs from February 1-5 and three T20Is from February 9-13.

Leave a Comment