CPL 2023: Caribbean Premier League to kick off August 16, within 3 days after the end of India series

The 11th edition of the Caribbean Premier League will kick off on Thursday, August 17, at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in St. Lucia. The final match of the franchise T20 league is scheduled to be played on September 24. The tournament will start just three days after the India tour of the West Indies.

Like last year, this year also the Indian team is scheduled to play several Twenty20 International matches against the West Indies at the Central Broward Park & ​​Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida.

The two games are scheduled as additional matches to the originally planned eight-match series of the ICC-sanctioned Future Tours Program (FTP). Two Tests, three ODIs, and five Twenty20 Internationals will be played in July-August. A CWI member contacted Cricbuzz on Wednesday (April 5) and confirmed the Florida schedule.

“That is the plan. Unless there is an unavoidable situation, the two extra games will be played in Florida, like last year.”

The 2023 edition of the CPL will be played across five venues. Barbados is hosting the T20 tournament for the first time since 2019. The first six league-stage matches will be played at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in St. Lucia, with the next six at Warner Park in St. Kitts.

The following six league stage matches will be played in Barbados and Trinidad, respectively, with Guyana hosting the last six matches. Guyana will also host the playoff matches, including Eliminator, Qualifier 1, Qualifier 2, and final. Guyana hosted the final match of the last edition as well.

CPL CEO Pete Russell said in a statement that he hopes to hold a world-class tournament this year as well. “We are very pleased that the tournament will be staged in five countries in 2023. As ever, the CPL is a chance for fans across the region and around the world to enjoy world-class cricket. And for the players from the Caribbean, it is an opportunity to showcase their skills and further their careers.”

CPL 2023 Schedule; Aug 16-20: Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, St Lucia / Aug 23-27: Warner Park, St Kitts, and Nevis / Aug 30-Sep 3: Kensington Oval, Barbados / Sep 5-10: TBC, Trinidad & Tobago / Sep 13 – Sep 24: Providence Stadium, Guyana

The new Major League Cricket will begin on July 13 in the United States and run until July 30. The CPL schedule overlaps with the Hundred, which runs from August 1 to August 27. Sunil Narine is the only West Indian player to feature in both competitions. Also, he is expected to play five games for the Oval Invincibles before leaving for the CPL.

Leave a Comment