“Can’t wait to get on the field to defend our title” – New skipper King excited for Tallawahs title defence

Defending champions Jamaica Tallawahs will kick off CPL 2023 with a clash against St Lucia Kings at the Darren Sammy Stadium on August 16. A total of 34 games will be played across five Caribbean nations of St Lucia, St Kitts, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, and Barbados.

The Tallawahs, under the captaincy of Rovman Powell, won their third CPL title in 2022, under the baton of coach Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Newly installed skipper Brandon King, who struck 85 not out for West Indies against India in the 5th T20I on Sunday, is eager to step into the role of captain.

“The Jamaica Tallawahs are excited for the 2023 season to begin, I firmly believe that our success in the upcoming tournament lies not just in our individual skills, but in our ability to unite as a team, play with passion, and embrace every challenge that comes our way,” said King.

“I’m excited for the new season and can’t wait to get on the field to defend our title,” the right-hander added.

Powell has since departed for the Barbados Royals franchise, where he has been appointed captain.

The Tallawahs come up against a St Lucia franchise coached by Daren Sammy, who presided over the West Indies 3-2 series win over India on Sunday.

“The Saint Lucia Kings are delighted to be getting their 2023 campaign underway at our home ground. We are sure that the Lucian public will come out in big numbers to support us as we push to make the playoffs and then go on and claim our first CPL title,” said Sammy.

“We have a very strong team full of exciting young talent and experienced local and overseas players and we are well placed heading into the tournament,” the former West Indies captain added.

St Lucia will host the first six matches of the 2023 CPL between 16-20 August.

Double headers will be hosted on 19 August and 20 August at the Gros Islet arena.

The Tallawahs won CPL titles in 2013, 2016, and 2022, while the Kings made it to the finals in 2020 and 2021.


Trinbago Knight Riders

Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Rilee Rossouw, Akeal Hosein, Noor Ahmad, Martin Guptill, Jayden Seales, Matheesha Pathirana, Mark Deyal, Chadwick Walton, Terrance Hinds, Kadeem Alleyne, Jaden Carmichael

Barbados Royals

Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Maheesh Theekshana (temporary replacement: Qais Ahmad – during Asia Cup), Laurie Evans, Alick Athanaze, Obed McCoy, Kevin Wickham, Roelof van der Merwe, Akeem Jordan, Rahkeem Cornwall, Donovan Ferreira, Justin Greaves, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Rivaldo Clarke, Ramon Simmonds

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Imran Tahir, Shimron Hetmyer, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Azam Khan, Shai Hope, Gudakesh Motie, Dwaine Pretorius, Kevlon Anderson, Kevin Sinclair, Keemo Paul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Ronsford Beaton, Matthew Nandu, Junior Sinclair

Jamaica Tallawahs

Imad Wasim, Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Mohammad Amir, Alex Hales, Chris Green, Jermaine Blackwood, Shamarh Brooks, Hayden Walsh Jr, Raymon Reifer, Amir Jangoo, Steven Taylor, Shamar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk McKenzie, Joshua James

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Shrefane Rutherford, Dominic Drakes, Sheldon Cottrell, George Linde, Yannic Cariah, Oshane Thomas, Corbin Bosch, Dewald Brevis, Jyd Goolie, Izharulhaq Naveed, Kofi James, Joshua da Silva, Ashmead Nedd, Johann Layne, Ambati Rayudu

St Lucia Kings

Faf du Plessis, Johnson Charles, Sean Williams, Alzarri Joseph, Roston Chase, Jair McAllister, Sikandar Raza, Peter Hatzoglou, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (temporary replacement: Chris Sole, first five group games), Roshon Primus, Jeavor Royal, Sadrack Descarte, Khary Pierre, Leonardo Julien, Matthew Forde, Kimani Melius, McKenny Clarke

Leave a Comment