Best West Indies Playing XI For ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022- Check out

The West Indies vs Scotland, 3rd Match, Group B of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 will be played in Australia.

West Indies announced their 15-member squad on September 14 which will be led by wicket-keeper batsman Nicholas Pooran. Rovman Powell has been appointed as vice-captain of the team.

Windies have lifted the World Cup trophy in the shortest format the most number of times by any team, in 2012 and 2016.

West Indies are placed in Group B in Round 1 of the T20I World Cup 2022. The Caribbean will play Scotland in their opening group on 17 October.

On 19 October they will take on Zimbabwe and finally Ireland on 21 October. Out of four teams in either group, two teams with the most points will make it to the Super 12 stage.

Best batters for West Indies

Middle-order batter, Nicholas Pooran, is the most experienced member of the squad and has big shoes to fill after taking on the white-ball captaincy vacated by the retired Pollard. But the 27-year-old keeper is more than up to the task with a career T20 strike rate of 130.17.

Pooran and Brandon King’s 95-run partnership was key to their warm-up win over the UAE on Monday and King is the other major threat with the bat for the West Indies.

Best bowlers for West Indies

The West Indies attack is led by 29-year-old left-arm slow bowler Akeal Hosein who has enjoyed a rapid rise to prominence since his T20 debut in 2021 with 44 wickets from 29 matches. No one can top former captain and fast bowler Jason Holder’s 23 calendar-year dismissals, though.

Top-order batsman Shamarh Brooks replaced Shimron Hetmyer in the 2022 T20I World Cup squad.

Best West Indies Playing XI For ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022; Kyle Mayers, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Brandon King, Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Sheldon Cottrell, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Yannic Cariah.

West Indies T20 World Cup Squad: Nicholas Pooran (c), Rovman Powell, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Raymon Reifer, Odean Smith, Shamarh Brooks.

West Indies Full Schedule

Qualifiers; October 17 – vs Scotland (Group B), Bellerive Oval, Hobart, October 19 – vs Zimbabwe (Group B), Bellerive Oval, Hobart, October 21 – vs Ireland (Group B), Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Leave a Comment