Australia announce Strong ODI squad for West Indies series; Steve Smith To Lead, Fast-bowling Trio and Maxwell Rested

Cricket Australia (CA) have made significant changes to their squad for the upcoming ODI series against West Indies, set to kick off on February 2 in Melbourne.

Jake Fraser-McGurk is poised to make his debut at the senior level after earning a spot in the ODI squad.

The inclusion of Fraser-McGurk comes as a result of the rest given to seasoned all-rounder Glenn Maxwell for the series.

While Maxwell is expected to return for the T20Is, this decision has provided a golden opportunity for Fraser-McGurk, who has experienced a rapid rise in recent months.

Notably, Fraser-McGurk made headlines in October last year when he shattered the record for the fastest List A century, achieving the feat in just 29 balls while playing for South Australia. This milestone surpassed the world record previously held by South African cricket legend AB de Villiers.

In the current Big Bash League (BBL) season, Fraser-McGurk showcased his prowess by accumulating 257 runs at an impressive strike rate of 158.64. His remarkable performance earned him a spot in the ILT20, where he debuted for Dubai Capitals, making an impact with a 25-ball 54 in his first appearance against MI Emirates.

Joining Fraser-McGurk in the revamped squad is pacer Xavier Bartlett. The leading wicket-taker in the ongoing BBL season, Bartlett has proven himself effective both in the opening overs and at the death. With Jhye Richardson sidelined due to injury, Bartlett’s selection is crucial for a squad already missing its first-choice pacers.

For the unversed, the three-match ODI series is scheduled to commence on February 2 at the MCG. Subsequent matches will be held at the at SCG in Sydney and the Manuka Oval in Canberra. Further, the Australian team will be led by Steve Smith.

Australia squad for ODI series against West Indies:

Captain: Steve Smith

Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Lance Morris, Xavier Bartlett, Matt Short, Adam Zampa

Leave a Comment